Explore Series

The Explore Series (until 2015 Sunday League) is a competition organised by the Northern Rowing Council aimed at rowers who are relatively new to the sport but who would like to experience side by side racing in a simple regatta format. It was introduced in 2012 and is attended regularly by DARC’s Recreational rowers and members of development squads, who take on opposition representing 9 clubs around the northern region, namely

A round of the series takes place each month between March and October using stable boats at each of the above venues. Skills heads were added to the formula in 2013. It is quite competitive but is also a fun day out and an opportunity to mix with rowers from around the region and beyond, and to experience their environment and facilities.

After Tees domination Tyne ARC entered strong teams in 2014 and 2015 and claimed victory in both the Open and Women’s competitions. The early rounds in 2015 were hampered by poor weather, leading to the cancellation of Tynemouth and the rescheduling of Talkin Tarn. In 2016 the Chester-le-Street round was replaced by a new venue at Berwick, and Durham saw their first success, winning the women’s league.

The competition reverts to its original name, the Sunday League in 2019, and sees another new venue when the August round takes place at Ebchester where the boathouse, unused since the 1970s, is being restored.

Previous winners

2012              Open – Tees         Women – Tees

2013              Open – Tees         Women – Hexham

2014              Open – Tyne RC    Women – Tyne RC

2015              Open – Tyne RC    Women – Tyne RC

2016              Open – Tyne ARC  Women – Durham

2017              Open – Hexham   Women – Durham

2018              Open – Berwick    Women – Tyne ARC / Tyne United