Successful weekend at Durham City Regatta

Durham City Regatta took place over the weekend of May 12th and 13th with 11 hours of racing over the 700-metre course on Saturday to accommodate a full entry of 300 crews representing schools, colleges and clubs from across the north of England, followed by a more relaxed day on Sunday with 120 crews competing for 6 hours over 500 metres, entries from doubles and singles being particularly popular this year.

With British Rowing’s new Competition Framework being phased in it was decided to adopt the old rules for Saturday racing and to use Sunday to trial the new Ranking Index system of scoring.

The success of the day was down to the volunteers who turned out in force to support the event and Club Captain Paul Rutter was quick to praise them for their efforts.

On the water it was a successful day for DARC’s Senior Men’s and Women’s squads with wins on Saturday for the Women’s Elite coxless quad of Liz Law, Taya Parker, Alison Danforth and Beth Holmes, and for the Women’s IM3 coxed quad of Emma Lyons, Ruth Hodges, Taya Parker, Michelle Joubert and cox Christie Lau. The elite crew won again on Sunday, this time in the Women’s coxless quad, and there was a first win for the Men’s coxed quad (above) of Tom Maddick, Joe Owen, Nick Baird, Reece Stockport and cox Becky Jackson.

Further wins came for Gill Prescott and Helen McMillan on Saturday in the Women’s IM2 double sculls and on Sunday in the Women’s 2x. The Masters D 2x also won on Saturday and Joyce Collett won the Women’s Masters F single scull on Sunday.

There were 6 wins for the Juniors on Sunday. Mollie Coe, Catherine Musgrave, Jess Cooper, Honor Cessford and cox Lily Sanderson won the J15 girls coxed quad, Freya Court, Madalyn Elmer, Elicia Baldwin and Hope Simpson won the J14 girls coxed quad, and Niamh Lang, Ellie Goad, Alice Davies, Ruby Coe and cox Thomas Woods won the J13 girls coxed quad. In the J14 girls double sculls there was a win for Hope Simpson and Elicia Baldwin, while Adam Morris and Mark Humphries won in the J15 boys 2x. In the Women’s 4+ Mllie McIntyre, Catherine Henderson, Natalya Priestly Leach, Gabriella Suggett and cox Katie Warburton also won.

Full results: